Posts tagged “GOBLIN

Album Review: Goblin by Tyler, The Creator

Well it’s real now. Maybe not officially in yet in the U.S,  Tyler, The Creator and XL records dropped his first studio album Goblin (in the U.K.).

Goblin starts off right where his first project Bastard left off. However the entire album reminisces a movie from beginning to end. Tyler opens the doors to his feelings on the title track GOBLIN. He goes through all of the things he’s been dealing with since the national spotlight has been hoisted upon him. “Yonkers dropped and left their craniums mind fucked”, admitting he’s the star of the group and the conflict it has with the attention the rest of the team gets. He screams fuck you to anyone who disagrees with his subject matter; and anyone in hip-hop  who’ve bring up Odd Future  just because they are the news, “Getting co-signs from rappers that i don’t even like”. But at the end of the track, as Tyler begins to revel himself to you he says “They claim the shit i say is just wrong/ like nobody has those really dark thoughts when alone/ I’m just a teenager whose suicide prone/ my life is pretty good/ so that date is postponed – for now”

Next up is now become a world anthem Yonkers, and the mastered version is fucking special. The strings over come your body as the ridiculous track rips. Tyler did us all a favor by adding a 3rd verse too. I don’t want to reveal it but it’s fucking classic Tyler having fun on a track, “Actions speak louder than words/ let me try this shit”.

Radicals is the song the really reveals his growth. Not only does he rile up the faithful with the motto “Kill people, burn shit, fuck school” echoed throughout the track, but with a point — “don’t let know body tell you/ you can’t do what the fuck you want/ I’m a fucking unicorn/ i dare any one to tell me different” — which is Tyler’s lead inspiration. He believes that you can be anything you want to be if you believe it enough.

In true Tyler fashion, Goblin also features songs that touch such subject matters such as love, and girls. The classic “She” featuring the extremely talented Frank Ocean – then the more depressing, Raquel-dedicated “Her”, where Tyler clearly puts out his feelings about getting his heart broken in the past: some of the main lyrics are, “To mental images her face look/ The closest that I got was when I’m poking her on Facebook” or “She’s s pretty/Fuck self petty/ I feel so shitty”.

Although, literally, each and every song in the album is crucial for what Goblin represents, I would like to point out what, in my opinion, represents the peak of the Goblin storyline. When putting the album in relationship with a movie, think of that point, that is present in almost every plot, where the main character seems to be defeated, that point where the anti-hero is really close to victory and almost every hope is lost. “Tron Cat” is Tyler’s Anti-Hero, the voice, as he says, that “tells him to do all this fucked up shit”. (more…)

Thurnis Haley Presents: Tyler, The Creator’s “Goblin” Promo Video

Tyler, The Creator‘s one of many alter egos, Thurnis Haley, talks about himself and his great passion for golfing in a promo video for Tyler’s upcoming album, Goblin. Thurnis is fifty years old and.. yeah, he “eats golf, sleeps golf”. The promo video, for as short as it is, is pretty humorous, well produced, and has that kind of Adult Swim Tim n Eric sort of feel. The short commercial came out yesterday, but in case you haven’t seen it, get prepared to hit the replay button plenty of times for Thurnis’ hysterical laugh. Props to the subliminal messages in the video too. Goblin comes out May 5th, but you can already pre-order a copy on both iTunes and Amazon. Enjoy:

– LetsKillAndre

GOBLIN – Tyler, the Creator

OFWGKTA’s leader has officially set a May 10th release date for his highly anticipated first album GOBLIN. His first single Yonkers is the only song that has been released but anticipate some new music from Tyler and the rest of the crew. Tracklist and a live performance below:

1. Goblin
2. Yonkers
3. Radicals
4. She (feat. Frank Ocean)
5. Transylvania
6. Nightmare
7. Tron Cat
8. Her
9. Sandwitches (feat. Hodgy Beats)
10. Fish / Boppin Bitch
11. Analog (feat. Hodgy Beats)
12. Bitch Suck Dick (feat. Jasper Dolphin & Taco)
13. Window (feat. Domo Genesis, Frank Ocean, Hodgy Beats, & Mike G)
14. AU79
15. Golden

Odd Future SXSW performance after the jump